A really pointless post

I got a new cell phone today.  One with lots of buttons, and a fancy ringtone.  I can text, with wild abandon, to the two people I know.  It’s lime green, and has a video camera.  A VIDEO CAMERA!  Yeah, I know, whatever…you’ve had a phone with a video camera for ages.  I, on the other hand, have had to struggle through life with a tracfone for the past year.  A phone that did nothing but call people.  I was the epitome of uncouth.

Now I have this phone, and I feel, I dunno….spoiled?  No, that’s not the right word.  It feels rather, opulent, I guess.  Opulent in the sense that I didn’t NEED to get the fancy phone.  I could have gone with the bottom-of-the-line-99-cent-ugly-as-sin-phone. (The same one my dad has.)  So why was I drawn to this marvelously cute piece of modern technology?

The answer is really quite simple: I’m a sucker.

I can tell myself that I’m going to go in a store, get the best deal I can, and walk out with only what was on my list.  Talk is cheap.  Unfortunately, that’s the only thing that is.  I pride myself on my ability to see the tricks advertisers use to pull us in, to grab our attention.  You know what I’m talking about-“YOU WILL BE IRRESISTIBLE IF YOU WEAR THIS MAKEUP!”  “YOU WILL HAVE MORE FRIENDS IF YOU BUY THESE CLOTHES!”  “YOU WILL LOOK TEN YEARS YOUNGER IF YOU INJECT A TOXIN UNDER YOUR SKIN!”  Seriously?  I’m not falling for it….

But I am.  I did.  I do.  I walked into that cell phone store, pretending to not be interested in buying, “No Sir, I’m just looking, thanks.”  In between restocking the shelves that my son so deftly cleared, and re-righting the giant sign promising the clearest signal this side of the Mississippi, I browsed phones of every type imaginable.  Ones that flip open, ones with touch screens, and ones that did your taxes while simultaneously folding the laundry and recording episodes of The Middle in every language.  And then I saw it.  It was one of those moments that in the movies would have had a breeze come out of nowhere, blowing my hair perfectly back.  My makeup would have suddenly become sultry and I’m pretty sure there would be harp music.  It wasn’t a movie though, and my hair, if I even did it that day, was askew, I don’t wear makeup, and the only music in the store was my son screeching at the top of his lungs because the STUPID PHONE WAS ATTACHED TO THE COUNTER!  Still, it was magical.

It was the second to last phone on the farthest counter from the door.  There was a short paragraph guaranteeing a clear conversation, fast messaging, and the ability to hold all your favorite songs.  But here’s where I threw away all common sence, and fell for the advertising.  The words “green” and “recyclable” and “planet” caught my eye.  I bought a phone based only on the facts that IT WAS CUTE and that the casing was recyclable and PVC free.  I had no prior knowledge of this phone.  I hadn’t heard any rumors…good or bad.  I didn’t even look at the price!

The point is, if you’re going to be suckered into buying something, you can justify it by telling yourself, and anyone that asks, that it’s BFR and PCV free with a housing that is 100% recyclable!  It’s GREEN! 

I’m single-handedly saving the planet one REALLY cute cell phone at a time.

5 thoughts on “A really pointless post

  1. Post a picture of your cute, “green” phone. Just wonderin’ though, did that paragraph happen to mention anything about it being cute, green AND toddler-proof??

  2. We are all “suckers” over something. I’m glad you
    were suckered into something that will continue
    to provide us with great pictures and videos of
    Rowan! Enjoy! I’m going to see if I can get my
    Tracphone to fix my breakfast…..

Leave a Reply

