Things I have learned recently:

-My Dad reads my blog now.  Hi Dad!!  🙂

-Yesterday was Father’s Day, which I’ve known for a while, but what I didn’t know, is that my dad could be my best friend.  He certainly qualifies, what with the hanging out together, the teasing, the laughing, the listening, the advice, and the general goofiness.  I’m not just saying this because he reads this now.  I’m saying it because it’s true.  Dad, I love you.  You are exactly the guy I want influencing Rowan and the kind of guy I want him growing up to be.  Thanks for being there for both of us.  You are awesome.  Adopting me was the best move you ever made.  Haha….   😀

-If you give Rowan a basket of cars, and put him on the covered porch, he’ll play for over an hour, all by himself!

-Some guys are pigs.  They say one thing and mean something entirely different.  Guess what pal?  I have WAY more self-respect than that, and you’re a jerk.

-I have good instincts.    (See above.)

-My grandma has been feeding the cats an entire bag of treats at a time.  Sometimes two bags a day.  I had to replace the treats with just regular dry food, to prevent some major vet bills.  So far she hasn’t noticed.

-I love gardening.  It’s kind of like nurturing a kid and watching them grow, except there is a lot less whining and talking back.  A LOT less!  It also turns out that I’m good at it.  🙂

-While some guys are jerks, some aren’t, and can make me laugh, feel good about myself, be exactly the kind of friend I need and want, and say exactly the right thing at the right time.  You know who you are!  🙂

-I’m not perfect.  (yeah, yeah, this isn’t exactly news)  I get frustrated with my kid, I get frustrated with my grandma.  I choose to fold the laundry instead of playing fire engines.  I eat way too much sugar, watch too many shows on Hulu, and spend too much money on organic food.  I’m not perfect, and my life is not perfect, but I am happy with where I am right now.  In fact, I don’t think I’d want it any different.

3 thoughts on “Things I have learned recently:

  1. Megan said it and I agree. Karl rocks. And I’m not just sayin’ that because he reads your blog now. It’s true. I think we (Megan and I…and bunches of other people) knew it before you did. Or maybe you just forgot it for a little while. 🙂 Anyway, you are a blessed woman. And your son is a blessed boy!! Stay grateful. Stay content. It’s a really GREAT place to be.

    Love you bunches!

Leave a Reply

