On Why I Shaved My Head.

It either takes a lot of guts or a lot of crazy for a woman to shave her head. 

So why did I, a 33 year old mom living in West Virginia shave my head?  It’s really not as extreme as everyone around me seems to think.  The reason?  I WANTED TO!  I cannot stress enough that:

  • I’m not in a cult
  • I did not do it for attention
  • I haven’t gone all “Britney Spears”
  • I did not do it on a dare
  • I did not do it for political or religious reasons
  • That I *do* love lists and any excuse to make them

You guys…CHILL!  It’s just hair.  I didn’t cut a limb off, it will grow back.  It’s not even the first time I’ve done this.  It’s not the second, or the third, or even the fourth or fifth.  For some reason this time is different and people have taken their feelings about it to an extreme.  My own mother said to me in all seriousness that, “You look like a 13 year old boy in a concentration camp.”  Ouch.  I don’t know, maybe it’s because I’m a mom now.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been in a fairly predictable routine for four years.  I’ve been talking about doing it for a few months now, and as usual I got tired of talking about it and just did it.  As my friend Amanda says, “Tiffany, you just do what you want.”  It’s true, I do….now.  I haven’t always.

For the majority of my childhood I had thick, curly, long hair-long enough to sit on.  It was so much a part of me, that when people described me, it usually went something like this: “Yeah, you know, the short, shy girl with the really long hair…I think her name is Stephanie or something.” True story.  I became known for my hair, and frankly I just went with it.  If people expected a certain thing from me, and that’s what it would take to pacify them, so be it.  I’d keep my hair long and beautiful and that would be that.  Then when I was about 16 a dear friend told me, “You know Tiffany, your hair isn’t what makes you beautiful.”  It was a Sampson moment, and I realized my strength didn’t come from my hair, and I cut it a few weeks later.  I’ve never had it past my shoulders since.  

A part of me realizes that the reason I took clippers to my hair in the dead of night was stress.  No big catastrophe happened.  The little things all sort of added up, and it was a physical response to an emotional build-up.  Some people have crying fits, some eat, some exercise, I shave my head. It was an effective release, and I don’t regret it(except for those two little bald spots on the back….ooops!).  

Image

 

6 thoughts on “On Why I Shaved My Head.

  1. You forgot to add

    I’m not having chemotherapy

    to the list! 😉

    I agree with Kate above…I think it looks fantastic. But don’t tell your mom I said that!

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

